PIPA Popular Vote Winner announcement | Wednesday, November 2nd

(Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

The announcement of the PIPA Popular Vote 2016 winner will take place on Wednesday, November 2nd. In this category of the Prize, the result depends entirely on the visitors of the PIPA Prize Exhibition, on view at MAM-Rio: each can place a vote for one of the four PIPA Prize 2016 finalists in a ballot in the Living Area located in the exhibition space. The artist with the most votes – this year, the runners are Clara Ianni, Gustavo Speridião, Luiza Baldan and Paulo Nazareth – will receive a R$24,000 award. The announcement will be made exclusively on PIPA’s websites.

See below some photos of the exhibition:

PIPA Prize 2016 exhibition is on view at MAM-Rio through November 13th. For more information about the exhibition, the works being shown, and the finalists, click here.


Along with PIPA Popular Vote, the four 2016 finalists are also competing for PIPA (the main award) which consists of a R$130,000 award that includes a participation in a 3-month residency programme at Residency Unlimited, in New York. The grand winner, chosen by the 2016 Award Jury, will be announced on November 9th.


The finalists of the first PIPA Prize edition were Cinthia Marcelle (Belo Horizonte, Brazil, 1974), Marcelo Moscheta (São José do Rio Preto, Brazil, 1976), Marcius Galan (Indianapolis, USA, 1972) and Renata Lucas (Ribeirão Preto, Brazil, 1971). The PIPA Popular Vote winner was Marcelo Moscheta, and the grand winner, Renata Lucas.

In the following year, the four finalists were André Komatsu (São Paulo, Brazil, 1978), Eduardo Berliner (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 1978), Jonathas de Andrade (Maceió, Brazil, 1982) and Tatiana Blass (São Paulo, Brazil, 1979), who won both the main PIPA Prize and PIPA Popular Vote in 2011.

The 2012 edition of the Prize witnessed two very peculiar events. Asides from Rodrigo Braga (Manaus, Brazil, 1976), who was then nominated for the second time to the prize, the finalists were the twins Matheus Rocha Pitta and Thiago Rocha Pitta (Tiradentes, Brazil, 1980), and Marcius Galan (Indianapolis, USA, 1972), the only artist who was twice a PIPA finalist. This time, he won, and Rodrigo Braga was granted the 2012 PIPA Popular Vote.

In 2013, it was the turn for Berna Reale (Belém, Brazil), Cadu (São Paulo, Brazil, 1977), Camila Soato (Brasília, Brazil, 1985) and Laercio Redondo (Paranavai, Brazil, 1967) to dispute the two most important categories of PIPA. Soato won the Popular Vote, while Cadu was awarded PIPA’s main prize.

Alice Miceli (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 1980), Daniel Steegmann Mangrané (Barcelona, Spain, 1977), Thiago Martins de Melo (São Luís, Brazil, 1981) e Wagner Malta Tavares (São Paulo, Brazil, 1964) were the PIPA Prize Finalists in 2014. Alice Miceli won both the main PIPA Prize and the Popular Vote that year.

Last year’s finalists were Cristiano Lenhardt (Recife, Brazil), Leticia Ramos (Santo Antônio da Patrulha, Brazil, 1976), Marina Rheingantz (Araraquara, Brazil, 1983), and Virginia de Medeiros (Feira de Santana, Brazil, 1973), declared winner in both of the two main categories.


These are the last days to vote in your favorite PIPA Prize finalist this year. Visit MAM-Rio until Sunday, October 30th, in order to choose the artist you believe should win PIPA Popular Vote 2016.

PIPA respects the freedom of expression and warns that some images of works published on this site may be considered inappropriate for those under 18 years of age
Copyright © Instituto PIPA