PIPA 2014 Winners

(this page was last updated in July 2016)


All the nominated artists in 2014 were running for four award categories (PIPA, PIPA Popular Vote Exhibition, PIPA Online and PIPA Popular Vote Online). Find out who had received each award.

PIPA 2014

The winner of the main award was Alice Miceli.

Only the four finalists Alice Miceli, Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Thiago Martins de Melo and Wagner Malta Tavares were entitled to run for this main award.
Alice Miceli, the winner, received a prize in the amount of one hundred thousand Reais – including a three-month residency at Residency Unlimited, New York.

Alice Miceli, was elected by the 2014 Award Jury, consisted by Agnaldo Farias, Angelo Venosa, Flora Sussekind, Gilberto Chateaubriand and Luiz Camillo Osorio, during a meeting at MAM-Rio. As well as visiting the finalists exhibition, the judges had the opportunity of looking through their portfolios and other material sent by the artists, including a letter where each finalist highlighted the importance that participating in the residency programme would have on their career.


PIPA Popular Vote Exhibition 2014

Alice Miceli also won this award.

The public determines this category winner, by visiting the PIPA finalists show at MAM-Rio and voting on their favourite artist. Alice Miceli was the most voted, receiving 334, amongst the 1219 valid votes, and received a donation of twenty thousand Reais, for this award.

This year PIPA Online was split in two different awards PIPA Online and PIPA Popular Vote Online.



PIPA Online 2014

The winner was Paulo Nimer Pjota.

For this category only the top five voted artists, on the second round were running for. They were: Diego de Santos, Fernando Mendonça, Daniel Escobar, Toz and Paulo Nimer Pjota.
The winner was decided by a jury based on their portfolio, their profile pages at PIPA’s websites and on a letter about their ideas about going to the residency at Sacatar. The members of the jury were: Augusto Albuquerque (from Instituto Sacatar), Lucrécia Vinhaes (Instituto IP and PIPA’s coordinator) and Luiz Camillo Osorio (curator of Rio de Janeiro’s Museum of Modern Art and a PIPA Board member).
The winner Paulo Nimer Pjota received a donation of R$10,000 plus a two months residency programme, in 2015, at Instituto Sacatar, in Bahia.
Paulo Nimer Pjota tells on a interview about his experience at Sacatar. Visit his page to watch the video.


PIPA Popular Vote Online 2014

The winner was Diego de Santos, who received 1170 votes in the second round on the voting that happened here at the website.
He received a donation of R$5,000.

Watch the videos of the announcements of the 2014 winners:

PIPA respects the freedom of expression and warns that some images of works published on this site may be considered inappropriate for those under 18 years of age Copyright © Instituto PIPA