(this page was last updated in January 2019)

In PIPA’s 9th edition, three artists were awarded in four categories. The winners and the respective awards were as followed:

PIPA Prize 2018 Winner

Arjan Martins

The artist will receive an award of R$130 thousand for the main prize and part of this amount (approximately 20%) will be used to fund her participation in an artistic residency programme at Residency Unlimited. The artist will spend three months in New York, in 2018, to take part in the programme. The winner of PIPA is elected by the Award Jury, which changes annually. In 2018, the Award Jury was composed by: Fernando CocchiaraleLuiz Camillo Osorio, Iole de Freitas, Michelle Sommer and Paulo Miyada.

Arjan also won PIPA Popular Vote Exhibition and received an additional R$ 12 thousand as an award. This category is determined by the number of votes given by the public, who votes for the favourite artist, during the course of the Finalists exhibition at MAM-Rio. The artist received 527 votes given by the public during the period from September 1st through September 30th.

PIPA Online

The most voted artists were:

Íris Helena – received 1659 votes at the end of the 2nd round and was awarded with R$10 thousand

Babu78 – received 1217 votes and was awarded with R$5 mil

Daniel Escobar – accumulated 1179 votes and received an extraordinary incentive of R$ 2 thousand

For further information on PIPA Online and PIPA Online Winners, see here

Watch the PIPA Prize 2018 winner’s announcement video:

PIPA respects the freedom of expression and warns that some images of works published on this site may be considered inappropriate for those under 18 years of age Copyright © Instituto PIPA